The Pain of Living

They do not know what it is like –

To hear voices in the head
To feel numb from cigarette burns
To look in the mirror seeing hate
To sleep with eyes wide open

To have nowhere to go but lost
To walk through unfriendly stares
To be surrounded by constant chaos
To wake up in nauseous nightmares

To feel so alone in a busy town
To breathe air of helplessness
To swim in fear of getting drowned
To live with no more purpose

They say suicide is an act of cowardice
They have no idea it takes a lot of courage
For there no longer is reason to exist
Time to write the book’s very last page

The hurt, the sorrow, the pain
The life of this young man
Too much to bear with one hand
Too much to cling to with another hand

If only I have the courage
If only death is a choice I manage
If only there is no baggage
Then I shall leave no damage

But I choose life…

About Toby Kendzierski

Fashion Model | Poet | Sketch Artist | Farmer | Biologist
This entry was posted in From a Poet's Heart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pain of Living

  1. Ivan says:

    “If only I have the courage
    If only death is a choice I manage
    If only there is no baggage
    Then I shall leave no damage
    But I choose life…”

    Keep writing, its beautiful and inspiring…

  2. kety ao says:

    I love your poets..how amazing how u use simple words to describe ur feelings..totally improve with it..good thing I stumble along u in instagram n found this page..thanks for sharing ur feelings..keep rocking..xo

    • kety ao says:

      I love ur poets…it’s amazing how u use simple words to describe feeling..totally in love with it..good thing I stumble across you in instagramn n found your page..thanks for sharing your poets..keep rocking..xo

Leave a Reply

